Webex - Lock Meeting

Body

Locking meetings in your Personal Room or in a Webex Pro Meeting helps keep them secure by making sure no one joins who isn't supposed to. When you lock your meeting, it prevents attendees from joining until you admit them. You can lock or unlock the room at any time while the session is in progress. If you have back-to-back meetings in your Personal Room or are concerned about security for  meeting, lock the room.

When a meeting is locked:

  • Anyone who tries to join will automatically be sent to the lobby.
  • You see a list of all attendees waiting in the lobby at the top of your Participant pane. You can choose who to allow into the meeting.

 

Lock a Webex Pro Meeting when scheduling

You can lock a Webex Pro Meeting when you schedule it from the Webex home page.

  1. Choose Schedule and enter all the meeting information
  2. Select Show Advanced Options > Scheduling Options
  3. Click the box after Automatic lock
  4. You can choose the number of minutes from the start of the meeting to automatically lock the meeting. If you choose 0 the meeting will be locked from the start.

 

You do not have the option to lock the meeting when scheduling from Outlook.

 

Automatically lock your Personal Room

You can set an option in your Personal Room preferences to automatically lock your room after it starts. You can choose from 0, 5, 10, 15, or 20 minutes. By default, your Personal Room locks after 10 minutes.

  1. On your Webex homepage (sunycortland.webex.com) select the Preferences tab

Webex Preferences tab

  1. Next, select My Personal Room

Preferences

  1. Check the box next to Automatic lock, and then choose how many minutes you want before your Personal Room locks.

Personal Room Automatic Lock

 

 

Lock a Personal Room or Standard Pro Meeting manually

Once a host starts a meeting, the host can lock the meeting at any time. If it is a personal room meeting, this option prevents anyone from immediately joining the meeting, they will be sent to the virtual lobby. If it is a standard Pro Meeting, attendees will be prevented from joining.

To lock the meeting:

  1. Select the More options button (three dots)
  2. From the menu choose Lock Meeting

or

  1. Select the Meeting Tab from the menu bar at the top left of your screen and
  2. Choose Lock Meeting

 

 

 

Unlock a meeting

 

To unlock a meeting whether it is locked automatically or manually

  1. Select the More Options button (three dots)
  2. From the menu choose Unlock meeting

Or

  1. Select the Meeting tab from the menu bar at the top left of your screen 
  2. Choose Unlock Meeting

unlock meeting

 

 

 

Admit to Personal Room or Meeting while locked

If people try to join your Personal Room meeting while it is locked, they will be sent to the virtual lobby. You will receive a notification that they are trying to join first at the bottom of your screen

lobby notification

Select Admit if you are ready for them to join the meeting.

If you do not select Admit right away the notification at the bottom of your screen will disappear. You can then open your Participant pane and the people in the lobby will be available to admit, either one by one or all at once, at the top of the pane.

virtual lobby

The participants will receive a notification like this if they are in the lobby:

Lobby notification

 

 

 

 

Admit while presenting

When you are sharing in your Webex personal room if someone tries to join the meeting you will receive a notification but there is no Participant button at the bottom of your screen. You will need to open the Participant pane using the button on the menu at the top of your screen.

To admit people to your meeting

  1. Move your cursor to the center top of your screen to make the brown menu appear
  2. Select the Participant button to show your Participant pane
  3. Select the Admit button you will see there for anyone in the lobby.

 

Details

Details

Article ID: 116766
Created
Wed 9/23/20 11:48 AM
Modified
Wed 2/2/22 3:44 PM